Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

Official 1975 Topps Mini Thread

Comments

• Options
    BaltimoreYankeeBaltimoreYankee Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm new to this thread and have nothing to do with PSA registry sets. I do collect HOFers from the 1975 Topps mini set. One thing I learned on this thread is that the Blyleven card often comes with a (PD) qualifier.

I just picked this one up on eBay and I'm pretty happy with it. Back when I was a kid, I never would have considered the card to be anything but perfect.

Edited to add: THe card looks much nicer in actual size

Daniel
  • Options
    Nice1 on the Heideman!, IMO that card might actually be tougher to find in high grade full-sized than the C.Wash. There are only 2 full-sized 9s - I have seen them all and the pop will soon be 4 not 6. Also, that card has been graded short much more often than CWash for some reason (timing of the submissions around 2008). I know that MM got a great 9 Heideman and a great deal on it.

As for the Blyleven, that card is a petry dish of afflictions from centering, diamond-cuts, shorts, and PDs. Many of the stars in the minis are much harder than their pops might indicate (Carew, Garvey, Jackson, Bench, B. Robinson (I estimate legit pop at 6-8) and F. Robinson, Aaron 1 and 660, Ryan, Ryan HL#5, Fingers, Perry, Winfield, Palmer (this card is SO hard to find in a legit 9), Gibson, Schmidt, and DEF Yount, Brett, and Hernandez rookies which were brutalized by the knife...damn that is just about all of them). Be VERY careful to check whether the star cards fill the holder. As has been stated here a couple times - and I can definitely verify this - star power has dramatically waned over the past 3 years...you just dont see strong 9 star cards offered outside of set-breaks. Basically, the only star 9s that have been sold recently have been from the huge breaks by MattyC and Eric
    75 Minis - GET IN MY BELLY!
  • Options
    Indy78Indy78 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭