Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Silver, Gold, Platinum Eagles, Buffalo Issues, Mints Intentions, Historical and current sales data f

Comments

• Options
    buy the coin unless you can find one for less elswhere. I would also get the 1/4 unc buffalo.

I can't believe how much this o8 1/4 eagle has gone up.

Buy Erics book if you don't have it,

either way the coin you choose will have upside from here.

I am no expert but based on what I have read and my own desire for the coin I would buy and hold, enjoy period.
    Ships are safe in harbor but thats not what ships were built for.
  • Options
    I do have Eric's book and thanks for advise and warm welcome.
  • Options
    With platinum spot now at at $1800 we are getting close to that point where PR/MS69s in none key years are at risk being sent to smelters.
  • Options
    CasmanCasman Posts: 3,935 ✭✭

<< <i>The reason I asked there is one on APMEX at the moment for $1195 + S/H

So I'm debating whether this is a reasonable price to pay for unknown quality ... >>

One just sold in a mint sealed box for $1,200, still seems like a buy.
  • Options
    GritsManGritsMan Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭

<< <i>With platinum spot now at at $1800 we are getting close to that point where PR/MS69s in none key years are at risk being sent to smelters. >>

The question, of course, is if they really DO get sent to the smelters. As always, any data on that is extremely welcome here. I do note that some supposedly non-key proof dates seem to be going for unusually large premiums on APMEX, and I wonder what that's about.
    Winner of the Coveted Devil Award June 8th, 2010
  • Options
    jmski52jmski52 Posts: 22,532 ✭✭✭✭✭
    With platinum spot now at at $1800 we are getting close to that point where PR/MS69s in none key years are at risk being sent to smelters.