Home PSA Set Registry Forum

Official 1975 Topps Mini Thread

Comments

• Are Probsteins cards from that recent graded set sold?
  • I think so, but not 100% sure
  • Yes they are the seller who broke up that set doesn't have any psa 10's listed any more.
  • I've been looking for sweet mini 9s and 10s for a while but I keep reading that lots of them are "short" so I have abstained from bidding on any. I'm new to this thread but I have been following some of the mini news from this site for a while and I'm still a bit confused. I seem to recall another thread a few months ago (where did it go, by the way?) and there were lots of posts where collectors were warning others of shorter than usual minis. But how can there be short cards if the PSA experts approved them as being authentic and unaltered and encapsulated them? Don't they look at cards under magnification? Shouldn't the edges look different when trimmed? Also, even if bunches of altered cards did slip by, I'm assuming PSA had to have been notified by some of you guys (you all seem so passionate that I can't believe you'd settle for such a thing if true) so once PSA learned of this, why didn't they simply buy them off of eBay to get them out of circulation? I just checked that link by Probstein and many of his PSA 10 minis do indeed look obviously short when I compare them to other mini cards in PSA slabs. Am I missing something here? Doesn't PSA back up their service? Can someone please enlighten me because quite frankly this has me baffled and very confused. Can PSA spot altered cards or not? Does PSA fix mistakes by buying back cards or not? I have hundreds of ungraded minis and I was thinking of submitting them to PSA but why should I spend thousands of dollars if this service can't be trusted? I'm also asking these questions on behalf of about a half dozen other mini collectors who I met at a card show a few weeks ago. They also have been kicking around the idea of putting together graded mini sets but h