Home U.S. Coin Forum

We've All Heard Of The 1909-S-VDB Since We Were Kids

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭✭✭

@PipestonePete 's recent thread sparked my interest and question. I'm sure this has been discussed here before but I couldn't find anything.

Since we were kids, we've all heard of the 09-S-VDB I did a quick search of all 3 TPG'ers pop reports. Adding up all grades (RD/RB/BR), shows a ruff total of about 41,000 graded.

That is however, nowhere near the 484,000 minted. I'm sure I'm missing something here but where the heck are all the other raw 443,000 S-VDB's?? Sitting in collections? Do dealers have them? Hoarded somewhere? Hiding in a fed bank vault somewhere?

This also seems to be the case with many other major key dates, i.e. 16-D Merc & 1916 Standing Liberty Quarter.

There's probably a simple explanation. Your thoughts...

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭✭✭

That's nearly a 10% survival rate, which does seem low for a first year of issue coin as well known and saved as the 09-s vdb. I have no idea what the survival rate is but it's probably not over 20% either. Something in between I think.

• Steven59Steven59 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭✭✭

There never seems to be a lack of them for sale, slabbed or unslabbed. What percentage would you guess that have been lost/destroyed?

"When they can't find anything wrong with you, they create it!"

• fluffy155fluffy155 Posts: 253 ✭✭✭✭

Also, in these days of minimal circulation it's easy to forget just how quickly coins wore out when they were being actively used in commerce. I wouldn't be surprised if half the mintage was worn flat by 1920.

• alaura22alaura22 Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭✭✭

Anybody remember Redfield..........................just saying :o

• yosclimberyosclimber Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭✭✭