Home U.S. Coin Forum

New Indian Head penny pickups

spyglassdesignspyglassdesign Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited August 11, 2022 2:32PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I'm new to the Indian penny coins. One with the slash on the cheek I got for about $2. Seemed like a good price. The first one was a lot more than that. The slash of course doesn't look half as bad as it looks in the pictures.

Thoughts? Decent pickups? Are these decent samples?

Comments

• jp84jp84 Posts: 201 ✭✭✭

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but that first one (the expensive one) looks like it has been monkeyed with. Note how the fields are one color and then when you get near the devices the fields are a different color. That's usually a sign that someone has polished the coin to erase wear in the fields. Depending on what you paid, I would recommend you take it back to the seller.

• LanceNewmanOCCLanceNewmanOCC Posts: 19,999 ✭✭✭✭✭

both are altered color (dipped?) the second one for $2 is a good buy even still.

the first one has potentially been whizzed/polished and still has value but you have to be real careful paying up for coins like that. it can be done and you be ok but best left to those with lots of experience, unless you get them cheap and go into knowing they are problem coins.

<--- look what's behind the mask! - cool link 1/NO ~ 2/NNP ~ 3/NNC ~ 4/CF ~ 5/PG ~ 6/Cert ~ 7/NGC 7a/NGC pop~ 8/NGCF ~ 9/HA archives ~ 10/PM ~ 11/NM ~ 12/ANACS cert ~ 13/ANACS pop - report fakes 1/ACEF ~ report fakes/thefts 1/NCIS - Numi-Classes SS ~ Bass ~ Transcribed Docs NNP - clashed coins - error training - V V mm styles -

• TomBTomB Posts: 21,126 ✭✭✭✭✭

Both have significantly messed up surfaces and unnatural color. I don't know what you paid, but it was too much.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 11,180 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'll just echo what has been said, the first one looks whizzed to me.

My Lincoln Registry