Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Can any of you see the difference between a graded 69 and 70 in a silver or gold eagle?

Herb_THerb_T Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am new at this, but I sure can’t tell any difference between a 69 and 70. Looking at a silver eagle proof or a gold eagle mint state. Is it easier to tell the difference in mint state coins as opposed to proofs? Can some of you help me in this area?

Comments

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,447 ✭✭✭✭✭

@dpoole said:

@WCC said:
    The reason you cannot is because the difference isn't meaningful from a collectible standpoint, only financially. It's called marketing.

I find it easy to tell the difference. I just look at the price tag.

....or the slab label. :D

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    OldhoopsterOldhoopster Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

It's easy to see the difference. Just look at the holder and see if it has a 69 or 70 on the label 😂 😇

It's hard to explain if you don't spend much time in that sandbox (I don't play there much either). The best way to learn the differences is to look at a lot of 69 and 70 coins to develop a feel for it.

Member of the ANA since 1982
  • Options

@BillJones said:
    If I see anything, it will be a pit about the size of a pinhead in the fields of the Proof surfaces.

That helps, gives me an idea of where and what to look for….thank you!

• Options
    Jzyskowski1Jzyskowski1 Posts: 6,651 ✭✭✭✭✭

Price. I have some 70’s that are down right dogs compared to some 69’s I own that I would never trade up. Thing is there is a difference just how obvious is it. Eye appeal 🤓

🎶 shout shout, let it all out 🎶

• Options
    messydeskmessydesk Posts: 19,707 ✭✭✭✭✭

Sometimes, but it's never something that is worth the price difference to me.