Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

What are the chances that PCGS will win their lawsuit against the coin doctors?

PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,444 ✭✭✭✭✭
I'm not a lawyer but my gut feeling tells me that PCGS will have an uphill battle convincing a judge or a bunch of jurors without a coin collecting background that it's wrong to repair or "improve" a coin. The defense lawyers will point out that it's common with other collectibles to repair and enhance those collectibles such as antique cars which are commonly repaired and repainted. Don't most non-collectors think this is no big deal? Don't many people think it's a good idea to polish an old silver coin to make it new looking? Don't forget that the jury will not consist of experienced coin collectors and professional coin experts. I'm curious what the lawyers and lawyer wannabes here think about PCGS chances of winning this lawsuit?

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

Comments

• Options
    BearBear Posts: 18,954 ✭✭
    Americans are tired of being fleeced, I believe that a jury will
    respond favorably to the evidence presented by PCGS.
    There once was a place called
    Camelotimage
  • Options
    WaterSportWaterSport Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I am thinking the goal is to be made finically whole and scare the heck out of anyone trying to submit crap coins. Long cases cost money and I am sure PCGS will want to avoid a drawn out fight. Therefore expect non disclosed payments of folks saying they did no wrong.

WS
    Proud recipient of the coveted PCGS Forum "You Suck" Award Thursday July 19, 2007 11:33 PM and December 30th, 2011 at 8:50 PM.
  • Options
    coinguy1coinguy1 Posts: 13,485
    I don't think PCGS has to prove "that it's wrong to repair or "improve" a coin". I think they need to prove that a written contract was breached, resulting in damages. And in theory, at least, that should be much easier to prove.
  • Options
    braddickbraddick Posts: 23,129 ✭✭✭✭✭