Home Precious Metals
Options

How much would you pay for a 1996 Silver Eagle?

DarinDarin Posts: 6,369 ✭✭✭✭✭
At a coin auction I went to last Sunday they sold 5 of them. I bid on all of them and stopped at $35 on each one, they ended up selling for $37-$47 each so I didn't get any of them. I'm not an expert on grading but would say all would easily have been at least MS 63.
the next lot was a 2000 silver eagle, it went for $22, didn't even get a bid in on it. image

Comments

• Options

<< <i>At a coin auction I went to last Sunday they sold 5 of them. I bid on all of them and stopped at $35 on each one, they ended up selling for $37-$47 each so I didn't get any of them. I'm not an expert on grading but would say all would easily have been at least MS 63.
    the next lot was a 2000 silver eagle, it went for $22, didn't even get a bid in on it. image >>

A 1996 in MS63 is worth melt.....even up to 66-67 is prolly still worth only melt.
  • Options
    DarinDarin Posts: 6,369 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>

<< <i>At a coin auction I went to last Sunday they sold 5 of them. I bid on all of them and stopped at $35 on each one, they ended up selling for $37-$47 each so I didn't get any of them. I'm not an expert on grading but would say all would easily have been at least MS 63.
    the next lot was a 2000 silver eagle, it went for $22, didn't even get a bid in on it. image >>

A 1996 in MS63 is worth melt.....even up to 66-67 is prolly still worth only melt. >>

Not true, APMEX sells them for over $60 each in uncirculated.
  • Options
    IIRC, I paid 65-75 bucks for my raw one I put in my Dansco, thats been a year or so ago. This is the only non-W that carries much of a premium I believe.
    imageQuid pro quo. Yes or no?
  • Options
    19Lyds19Lyds Posts: 26,482 ✭✭✭✭

<< <i>

A 1996 in MS63 is worth melt.....even up to 66-67 is prolly still worth only melt. >>

66 - 67 is still a melt coin. These only show potential in the MS68 but mainly MS69 grade.