Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1795 FH Dollar and 1800 Dollar-poor pics. Real or Fake? Opinions, please-UPDATE

TPRCTPRC Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited March 12, 2023 2:30PM in U.S. Coin Forum

A friend of mine is considering a coin purchase that includes 2 early dollars. The pics are attached below, but are not very good and on first glance, look funky. However, I cannot tell from the pics if it is the toning, or if these are fake. May I solicit opinions from those more knowledgeable than me?

Tom

Comments

• Options
    RLSnapperRLSnapper Posts: 524 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am no expert but the 1800 looks fake to me. The 1795 is probably fake as well but there is a slim chance it could be legit. I wouldn't buy either one.

• Options
    lkeneficlkenefic Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hard pass... both are counterfeit.

Collecting: Dansco 7070; Middle Date Large Cents (VF-AU); Box of 20;

Successful BST transactions with: SilverEagles92; Ahrensdad; Smitty; GregHansen; Lablade; Mercury10c; copperflopper; whatsup; KISHU1; scrapman1077, crispy, canadanz, smallchange, robkool, Mission16, ranshdow, ibzman350, Fallguy, Collectorcoins, SurfinxHI, jwitten, Walkerguy21D, dsessom.
  • Options
    calgolddivercalgolddiver Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭✭✭

agree ... both fake

Top 25 Type Set 1792 to present

Top 10 Cal Fractional Type Set

successful BST with Ankurj, BigAl, Bullsitter, CommemKing, DCW(7), Elmerfusterpuck, Joelewis, Mach1ne, Minuteman810430, Modcrewman, Nankraut, Nederveit2, Philographer(5), Realgator, Silverpop, SurfinxHI, TomB and Yorkshireman(3)

• Options
    FlatwoodsFlatwoods Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭✭✭

I wouldn't touch them.

• Options
    DNADaveDNADave Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭✭✭

We’re/Are they both plated?

• Options
    opportunityopportunity Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭✭

Even if they were real, I would pass. They're butt ugly.

Early American Copper, Bust and Seated.

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭✭

Look counterfeit to me.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography