Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Coin Show General Question

ndeaglesndeagles Posts: 327 ✭✭✭✭
edited February 15, 2022 11:56AM in U.S. Coin Forum

I've been collecting since 1993 when I was a young kid. I've been to a couple of local shows many years ago, I've never been to a major coin show. Most of my purchases have been from LCS, eBay, GC, or big sellers like apmex. ANA national money show is coming to my hometown and I'm registered and looking forward to the event. I have read about general coin show etiquette, I know I will need a mustard stain on my shirt to fit in, but I was curious if there is any strategy or method for locating specific items I am looking for. Do dealers post what they are planning to bring to shows like this, or do I simply wander around and ask people and look at their supply? I am looking for a couple specific items that have been harder to find, and I would hate to miss out on this opportunity to find something im looking for.

Do most dealers accept cards, or are most cash only?

Any other general advice would also be appreciated. Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    pointfivezeropointfivezero Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @ndeagles,

I'm heading to Long Beach tomorrow and found this website helpful for coin show tips:

https://www.longbeachexpo.com/visitors/faq

This will be my first national show. I always bring cash to the regional shows in the Bay Area but I understand there will be dealers accepting credit cards at Long Beach. I would prefer not to bring a suitcase of cash to the show so I am interested in how others complete transactions for expensive coins at these large shows.

Tim

• Options
    Cougar1978Cougar1978 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 15, 2022 12:54PM

Shows:

1. Cash is king on the bourse - bring buying cash. Do not use CC debt to buy coins. Very few take cc. Cash money is what they need.