Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

3 massive finger prints didnt scare away CAC?

Comments

• Options
    cameonut2011cameonut2011 Posts: 10,080 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 17, 2021 8:13AM

@Nic said:
    Folks are arguing about CAC and a 63 common date Peace Dollar?

The fact that people would send such an inexpensive and ugly example to begin with is honestly appalling. Who cares if a cheap coin is stickered? Any putative value added is de minimis at best.

• Options
    vulcanizevulcanize Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Soldi said:
    Sold some of my collection to a dealer in NJ , some to CAC , some to a dealer in NH.
    I still have a few pieces left, but not much, always will trade or make a deal with fellow collectors.

Lost the most money on Barber halves, I'm no expert , but it turns out even the "tough dates" are ubiquitous , offers for coins purchased from the best dealers we're always 20% behind lowest heritage auctions prices, regardless of auction date. Jeez never again.

This is where eBay makes all the difference from what I have seen because it is a platform with a lot more reach with newcomers to the hobby and you only pay about 10% fees totally - so if you added that to the final costs someone somewhere down the line would buy it even though it may take some time ;)

• Options
    Joey29Joey29 Posts: 458 ✭✭✭

@jmlanzaf said:

@Joey29 said:

@jmlanzaf said:

@Joey29 said:

@jmlanzaf said:

@Joey29 said:

@MFeld said:

@HalfDimeDude said:

@Rampage said:

@HalfDimeDude said:
    I had a Morgan MS 65 + * NGC toned with a finger print over the entire obv. Breaking the tone due to acids and oils off the fingers. I took it in a trade as I knew that the +/* and the tone some bid idiot would had to have. The coins sold in less than a week and I made $100 + cost .

Curious to know why you would think someone is an idiot for bidding on a coin they probably will like.