Home U.S. Coin Forum

Should PCGS require Gold Shield for every classic US coin?

ZoinsZoins Posts: 33,811 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited April 20, 2019 9:14AM in U.S. Coin Forum

I just picked up another PCGS 6.0 generation slabbed coin without TrueView or Gold Shield, a Morgan this time, so it is yet another recently slabbed coin I'll have to send in to get TrueViewed. It would be great to not have to send in all these recently slabbed coins for TrueViews.

Does it make sense for PCGS to require Gold Shield and thus TrueView for classic US coins like they do for classic World coins?

Update: a big general request for this has been to make the hobby safer by reducing both doctoring and counterfeiting.

Tagged:

Comments

• sparky64sparky64 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭✭✭

Required?
    No, not at all.

I love Trueviews because I'm not good with the camera yet, BUT
    if I could take pics like messydesk, et al I'd consider it a waste of time and money.

"If I say something in the woods and my wife isn't there to hear it.....am I still wrong?"

My Washington Quarter Registry set...in progress

• RogerBRogerB Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭✭✭

No. Services requested are at the owner's discretion.

• ZoinsZoins Posts: 33,811 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 19, 2019 7:48PM

@sparky64 said:
    Required?
    No, not at all.

I love Trueviews because I'm not good with the camera yet, BUT
    if I could take pics like messydesk, et al I'd consider it a waste of time and money.

Beyond just being nice photos, TrueViews are official reference photos that people can rely on to represent the coin as PCGS saw it, to help prevent doctoring and counterfeiting.

edited April 19, 2019 7:49PM

@RogerB said:
    No. Services requested are at the owner's discretion.

Well, it's required for classic World coins ;)

And it would help deal with both doctoring and counterfeiting.

• SmudgeSmudge Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭✭✭