Home U.S. Coin Forum

Do I buy Indian Head Cents already PCGS graded, or send them in?

SiriusBlackSiriusBlack Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’d like to build a set registry. This would be very long term because my budget is only $50-100 a coin. I know there are many that ungraded are worth far below the cost of sending them in. I’m discovering though that once in a PCGS slab in MS6x condition it seems really hard to find them for under $50 and often it goes higher if it’s a pretty RD or RB graded coin or obviously one of the key dates.

I’m new to coin collecting, only been at it a few years, so my grading abilities when looking at coins are not strong enough to tell the differences in high grades and if they’ve been cleaned or not I don’t think. I have purchased a couple books on grading and on the Indian Head cent to learn more though. I’m not sure I’d save much money in any event buying and sending in, but it would open up my selections of coins at coin shops.

Thoughts? Recommendations?

Collector of randomness. Photographer at PCGS. Lover of Harry Potter.

Comments

• RayboRaybo Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭✭✭

I did a complete set of FE and Indian cents in AU-BU without any grading service help (thank you :# )
    I think I seriously started in about 1975 and finally purchased my AUish 1877 in 1984(?) for $850....WOW, that was huge for me.
    Get your grading eyes and just do it yourself....my X took off with my set after our divorce.
    Thanks for bringing up some great memories for me Sirius. ;)

• logger7logger7 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'd work with a notable expert like Mr. Snow, etc. not sure if he deals in raw coins. Cents are some of the most subject to artificial processing and other problems that I have seen, compared to silver and gold coins, and harder to "see" unless you know what to look for.

• SmudgeSmudge Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭✭✭