• Options
    Stone193Stone193 Posts: 24,358 ✭✭✭✭✭

A few items I'm thrilled to add to my Dallas Cowboys collection

Stunning cards!

Mike
  • Options

@LOTSOS said:
    This is my first Tobacco Card. T51 Murad. Not hockey but it is of my alma mater. Cheap ebay buy but it is well centered. Since I have zero experience with cards of this time frame I was kind of surprised by the in hand look and feel. Anyone have an opinion on authenticity based on the scan or any quick tips on how to spot a fake with these?

Thanks,
    Kevin

Hiya Kevin

Sorry I missed your question - very nice card.

The T51s were printed around 1909 I believe and those would be "chromolithographic" printings.

Get out a 10X or better and look at the print dots - they shouldn't look like the "organized" print dots of modern offset printing - they will look like little irregular "islands" of ink - sort of like amoebas. If you see organized print dots? Then it's fake - I doubt anyone would bother with a card like that.

Next, if you have a black light, you can shine it on the border - white stock in that era will not iridesce - around the late 30s paper companies started to put "photo brighteners" in paper and material - so when you hit them with a black light - they turn a bluish color in the dark (iridescent effect).

Mike
  • Options

Incredible Clemente and Jordan also!

Mike
  • Options
    LOTSOSLOTSOS Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 10, 2017 6:21PM

Mike,

Thanks for sharing your knowledge. It passes the black light test and looks as you describe under 10x. I like the amoeba reference!

I didn't think anyone would spend the time, energy or money to counterfeit this card but wasn't sure if there were ever reprints made.

Really cool looking Jackie. I'm clearly not a baseball guy but I love the look of those '50 Bowmans. And that card in particular is fine example!

Thanks,
    Kevin

Kevin

• Options

Mike,

Thanks

My pleasure Kevin.

Mike
  • Options