Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

How long did it take for you old time collectors to warm up & eventually fond of those toned silvers

ParadisefoundParadisefound Posts: 8,588 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am very new in this hobby and the tendency is to look for those shinny, bright and satiny coin free of any toning. I don't wish to spend too much both financially and timely collecting these "shiny object" and missing out on the beautiful opportunity for rainbow especially the Morgans. How did you come up to this junction where "toned" silvers became your fancy? I know exactly what is the better "toned" or "rainbow" and how to tell if it's naturally occurred. Please share your perspective. Mahalo

Comments

• Options
    cameonut2011cameonut2011 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've always loved attractively toned silver, copper, and nickel.

• Options
    BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭✭

I like both flashy white silver & toned coins back to say early 20th century stuff. Prior to that, white coins just don’t look right to me. There are exceptions, but the look of a coin has to be plausibly “correct” for me to like it.

As with many things, acquired tastes change as you gain experience.

• Options
    RegistryCoinRegistryCoin Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭✭

I’ve always looked for the high quality rim-toned examples that show off beautiful color while allowing for the appreciation of mark-free surfaces with the naked eye.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have not reached that point yet... and I have been collecting coins since I was eight years old. I am reasonably certain, at this point, that I will not, suddenly, look at tarnished coins as desirable. That being said, those old coins that have been in commerce, with honest wear, are acceptable. This is a hobby, to each his own. I spent a couple of years studying tarnish, and the many ways it is induced. I will never pay a premium for tarnish... natural or not - and 'not' is highly common on the market today. Cheers, RickO

• Options