Home U.S. Coin Forum

Help Please. Why is this Lincoln not considered Red?

FairlanemanFairlaneman Posts: 10,404 ✭✭✭✭✭

Thanks.
Ken

Comments

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

First of all, I am no expert on color, and second, I do have slabbed red cents... Third, I can only reply based on your picture.... So, that being said... I see that cent as more RB than R.... maybe even RRB.... since we coin people tend to 'split hairs'.... However, full red, no. Cheers, RickO

• BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,472 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 19, 2017 8:07AM

It is tough to judge from the pictures because you have a bright red area and then you have a subdued area on either side of that. I know that is probably the camera reflecting the luster of the piece, but still the question cannot be answered from the photos, and perhaps can't be answered from photos.

You do have some toning spots in the red areas are shown, so that might have something to do with the R&B.

I have seen R&B rated coins, mostly older Indian Cents, that looked red all over, but had been “helped” to look that way. I suppose those were examples of “market grading.” I don’t necessarily condemn that if the coin is stable and will hold its color with proper storage.

This coin looks to be original to me.

Retired dealer and avid collector of U.S. type coins, 19th century presidential campaign medalets and selected medals. In recent years I have been working on a set of British coins - at least one coin from each king or queen who issued pieces that are collectible. I am also collecting at least one coin for each Roman emperor from Julius Caesar to ... ?
  • neildrobertsonneildrobertson Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭✭✭

A coin can be 94% Red and still be Red-Brown. Yours is more on the upper part of the spectrum.

IG: DeCourcyCoinsEbay: neilrobertson
    "Numismatic categorizations, if left unconstrained, will increase spontaneously over time." -me

• JBKJBK Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭✭