Home U.S. Coin Forum

1914-S Buffalo Nickel lamination error..?

AzurescensAzurescens Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited February 25, 2017 7:56AM in U.S. Coin Forum

Good morning to all!

I came across this 1914-S Buffalo Nickel.

I believe it's a lamination...? The metal is bent and folded over where it was struck and some stray pieces are forced into the coin.

Just curious if this adds or detracts from the value, and what grade it might be or what it may be worth.

Cheers and thank you again ladies and gents. Hope you're enjoying your Saturday morning!

• A

Comments

• joeykoinsjoeykoins Posts: 14,787 ✭✭✭✭✭

Good Morning to you too. To me, that looks PMD (Post Mint Damage). It looks pretty cool, actually. I'm no expert but I think it would take away from it's value? When I first glanced at it I thought it was similar to that one I seen on the forum slabbed by our Host. In which is truly valued more because of its appearance. I think crazyhounddog , (Joe) had in his collection? :)

"Jesus died for you and for me, Thank you,Jesus"!!!

--- If it should happen I die and leave this world and you want to remember me. Please only remember my opening Sig Line.
  • AzurescensAzurescens Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭✭✭

When you say slabbed by our host you mean graded and put in a holder by PCGS right? They're good folk. Always liked them over everyone else.

How do I search for the one that you speak of?

I took a break from the coin game 1990-2013, so I'm kind of rusty. Boy I wish we had Google when I was a kid.

• gripgrip Posts: 9,962 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like the one I have..And it's lamination.

• joeykoinsjoeykoins Posts: 14,787 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Azurescens said:
    When you say slabbed by our host you mean graded and put in a holder by PCGS right? They're good folk. Always liked them over everyone else.

How do I search for the one that you speak of?

I took a break from the coin game 1990-2013, so I'm kind of rusty. Boy I wish we had Google when I was a kid.