Home Precious Metals
Options

Problems with storing gold coins over long term?

I'm new to coin investing/collecting. However, I have put quite a bit of thought into what really interests me, what's available, and the time I plan to devote. I've realized that I'm mostly interested in acquiring a casual collection of American Gold Eagles, hopefully working my way up and being able to acquire every year from 1986 forward. I plan to choose a specific denomination, grade and grading service, and stick with that during the entire time.

My question is: Since there are 4 different Eagle coin denominations available, each with their own set gold content, should the gold content be a deciding factor as far as which denomination I choose to acquire and the probability of toning as the coins age? For example, would it be wise to choose 1/2 oz coins over 1/4 oz coins simply because the 1/2 oz coins contain more gold and would be less likely to become altered as the coins age?

I am aware that toned coins are attractive to many people, but if there is any difference in how a 1/2 oz coin will age versus a 1/4 oz coin, I'd like to be aware before I start acquiring a serious quantity.

Comments

• Options
    guitarwesguitarwes Posts: 9,240 ✭✭✭

First of all, WELCOME!

I don't think there is any correlation on the amount of gold and the way it tones. Gold only tones because of the alloys in it are exposed to air and other chemicals or the alloy isn't mixed properly from the planchet makers. It could be argued, I guess, that the more surface area of a coin the more likely it will tone. Of course a $50 eagle has much more surface area than a $10 eagle, but I don't really know what % of all the eagles out there have toned, especially in TPG holders.