Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Craigslist Scammer got away with $2200

124»

Comments

• Options
    JohnnyDJohnnyD Posts: 520 ✭✭

<< <i>

<< <i>I have made 3 deals on craigslist where I met the guy in the parking lot of a nearby police station. First of all if the seller is afraid to meet me there then that says alot right there. Once a patrol car stopped to see what we were doing, I explained what was up, he agreed it was a good place to do it and went on his way. I am a retired police officer, I would have no problem with that either. It is like when we had weekly child custody transfers being done in our lobby every week - its a pretty safe place to be. >>

That's actually a hell of an idea, I live about 5 minutes away from the local station, do you think they (Officers/deputys) wouldn't actually mind if you met another party in that parking lot? I don't know how private/public it really is (I've never actually turned into this place in living here for 5 years).

I know my bank doesn't put up with it at all, but I've never tried the station. >>

I can only speak for the upper middle class suburb I worked for. But if it was done at a good time, say saturday or sunday afternoon when the lot is fairly empty, you don't set up a table to display your wares and make the meeting fairly low key and you do it maybe once a week or so, you should be fine. The location should put both parties at ease, assuming both parties are honest and concerned about their safety. Worse case scenario an officer stops by and tells you to hit the road....
  • Options
    Yeah probably something I'm going to avoid... Same area type but the sheriffs are not incredibly pleasant imo.

I can say I was the only person to ever be pulled over in the high school parking lot senior year though - Oh boy that was fun
  • Options
    WinPitcherWinPitcher Posts: 27,726 ✭✭✭
    Foo

I think it's a horse trade. Maybe your friend should speak to an attorney.