Home U.S. Coin Forum

Is this trade dollar Real or Fake?..PCGS grade just in!!

DoubleEagle59DoubleEagle59 Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭✭✭
Grade just in as of Sept. 29, 2010...PCGS Genuine (cleaned).

**See end of thread for new photos.

Never having owned a trade dollar, I'm obviously not the one to decide, so I'd like to know if this one looks real or fake?

"Gold is money, and nothing else" (JP Morgan, 1912)

"“Those who sacrifice liberty for security/safety deserve neither.“(Benjamin Franklin)

"I only golf on days that end in 'Y'" (DE59)

Comments

• AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,515 ✭✭✭✭✭
    What is the weight and diameter? I'm leaning to real.
    Ugly green though, damage?
    bob
    Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Bayard1908Bayard1908 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭✭
    I'm no expert on this series; however, the denticles on the reverse at 12 o'clock look suspicious to me.
  • DoubleEagle59DoubleEagle59 Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>What is the weight and diameter? I'm leaning to real.
    bob >>

Don't know the weight,

No 'green' color on my monitor.

"“Those who sacrifice liberty for security/safety deserve neither.“(Benjamin Franklin)

• << <i>I'm no expert on this series; however, the denticles on the reverse at 12 o'clock look suspicious to me. >>

Not just there... but all the denticles look suspect to me. If I remember correctly, from other threads, TDN mentioned that all the denticles should be exact and bold. All these seem "off"... with some longer and others shorter...
    ''
    Also, I heard it mentioned that there should be no raised "lumps" on the lettering... hard to tell from the pics but there do appear to be some raised lumps on some of the letters...

I am certainly no expert on these and would be very cautious buying them raw... especially a CC...