Home U.S. Coin Forum

1795 Dollar

PedzolaPedzola Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭✭✭

Many of you know me as a gold collector. So this recent newp might seem a little bit out of place. It was a leap for me, but one that I am very excited about.

In 2024 I've been trying to focus on fewer better coins. The collection is still centered on a core gold type set, but now with key additions to capture other iconic designs. I was drawn to an early dollar especially for the reverse small eagle, which is likely outside my budget in gold.

So anyway here is the coin! At first glance the surfaces of this 1795 $1 in XF45 look a pleasant steely grey. On closer inspection you can see deep toning, which I've done my best to capture in the close-up shots. It looks fantastically original, and in an old NGC slab in excellent condition. Although I am not an expert in this series, it's tough to imagine finding a nicer coin for the grade.

A huge thank you to John of CRO for providing the opportunity to own such a fantastic piece.

I think I'm looking for an early cent next. But wow it seems like I have a lot to learn!

Comments

• pursuitoflibertypursuitofliberty Posts: 6,771 ✭✭✭✭✭

That is an OUTSTANDING looking Bust Dollar!! I agree with you, finding a nicer EF45 seems next to impossible for the series. WTG!!!

“We are only their care-takers,” he posed, “if we take good care of them, then centuries from now they may still be here … ”

Todd - BHNC #242
  • TomBTomB Posts: 21,109 ✭✭✭✭✭

It's absolutely beautiful. What a nice addition to your collection.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• 291fifth291fifth Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭✭

Great looking coin!

All glory is fleeting.
  • lermishlermish Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭✭✭

Absolutely perfect look, great addition!!!

• CharlotteDudeCharlotteDude Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭✭✭

That’s a pretty piece of silver! Well done!

Got Crust....y gold?
  • Morgan13Morgan13 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭✭✭