Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

New Discovery?! Amazing 1860-O Seated Half Dollar Struck Thru Half Dime Planchet Mated Pair Error!!!

2»

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,306 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just stunning!!

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    privatecoinprivatecoin Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭✭✭

Proof that not all the good stuff has been graded. There is plenty out there to be found.

Paper money eventually returns to its intrinsic value. Zero. Voltaire. Ebay coinbowlllc

• Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,728 ✭✭✭✭✭

@MrEureka said:

@CaptHenway said:

@seanq said:

@CaptHenway said:
    Let me begin by saying that I absolutely love this pair! No question a legitimate major Mint error. I would be pleased and proud to own it.
    And now, a major mystery. Look at the struck side of the Half Dime. Note the ring of peripheral toning near its circumference, typical of many a silver coin of the 19th Century.

On this Half Dime, much of the periphery is no where near the periphery of the half dollar. So how did those areas acquire peripheral toning?

TD

Slight difference in the alloy mix? Maybe the two pieces were stored separately? I think you would need to know something about how/where it has been for the previous 160 years to be able to give a comprehensive answer to that one.

Sean Reynolds

I wonder if the crushing effect of the upsetting process changes the molecular structure of the metal near the rim in some way that affects its toning? Think about those Morgan dollar that have the shiny "doubling" outside the stars, the date digits and the lettering. In those cases metal was partially struck up into the stars, digits and letters and then dragged, kicking and screaming, out past the corners of those design elements where the outlines did NOT tone because their molecular structure had been changed.

TD