Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Adding Spanish Dollars to the Collection

My first post here so I'll start out with some basics about me. I am a long-time pocket change and roll hunting collector, after my grandfather and then my mother, mostly focused on US quarter, half dollar and dollar coins. Earlier this year I decided to pick up coin collecting as a more serious hobby and started assembling a complete collection of circulated Morgan silver dollars as well as modern Innovation and Presidential dollar coins (can't beat the cost), while still roll hunting for quarters.

I have also added some other coins I found interesting like Trade Dollars (with chop marks) and half dollars from the 1800's, and I might eventually do a one-a-year pre-1934 half dollar collection once I finish the Morgan collection. My hands-down preference is raw coins, but I do occasionally get slabbed ones if reasonably priced or for higher valued coins since I am not a coin expert. But I have been enjoying researching and accessing raw coins myself for lower or more moderately priced coins since I find that interesting.

I was thinking about adding some early silver dollars to the collection before the US started producing those coins in 1794, but ones that were adopted by the US as legal tender, which was the Spanish 8 Reales I think starting in July of 1785, called a Spanish Milled Dollar or Pieces of Eight. So, it looks like to fit into that criteria I should look into Spanish Colony 8 Reales dated between 1786 and 1793, possibly starting with a 1788 or similar year Spanish 8 Reales maybe struck at the Mexico mint as an option that appears to have good availability and reasonable cost for say an XF grade coin.