Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Fred Weinberg's 1880-S Off-Center Morgan Dollar Error Coin

ZoinsZoins Posts: 33,863 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited July 24, 2022 3:06PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Anyone know who bought @FredWeinberg's 1880-S Off-Center Morgan Error coin?

It sold for $72,000 and has already been recertified!

Unfortunately this means the TrueView is no longer available but I was able to snag the CoinFacts photo. Anyone have the TrueView background photo?

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭✭✭

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    edited July 24, 2022 11:48AM

It would be great to try and identify the VAM!

Heritage wrote:
    Given the hundreds of die pairs used to coin 1880-dated silver dollars, it would be a great challenge to identify the VAM variety, which would confirm the facility of origin.

• Options
    ByersByers Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭✭✭

Fred’s is an amazing off-center with a perfect position of K-12 and a full date.

The only other one that comes close (but still does not compare to Fred’s) is a 45% off-center that I sold years ago. Basically same percentage off center and the same grade, but without the date.

mikebyers.com Dealer in Major Mint Errors, Die Trials & Patterns - Author of NLG Best World Coin Book World's Greatest Mint Errors - Publisher & Editor of minterrornews.com.
  • Options
    edited July 24, 2022 12:14PM

@Byers said:
    Fred’s is an amazing off-center with a perfect position of K-12 and a full date.

The only other one that comes close (but still does not compare to Fred’s) is a 45% off-center that I sold years ago. Basically same percentage off center and the same grade, but without the date.

Great coin Mike! Thanks for posting it :+1:

It's good to see these huge off center coins!

• Options
    Bigbuck1975Bigbuck1975 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭✭✭

Why the regrade? Does it matter on this error?

• Options