Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

2017 d penny layer error?

Im new to coin collecting and going thru some coins i recieved and could use some enlightment.

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 10,757 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just a coin that had the edge layer of copper rubbed off to show the zinc core, not an error.

My Lincoln Registry
    My Collection of Old Holders

Never a slave to one plastic brand will I ever be.
  • Options
    FredWeinbergFredWeinberg Posts: 5,720 ✭✭✭✭✭

As above - rim was scrubbed, and the copper removed when it was done.

Retired Collector & Dealer in Major Mint Error Coins & Currency since the 1960's.Co-Author of Whitman's "100 Greatest U.S. Mint Error Coins", and the Error Coin Encyclopedia, Vols., III & IV. Retired Authenticator for Major Mint Errors
    for PCGS. A 49+-Year PNG Member...A full numismatist since 1972, retired in 2022
  • Options

Just got my microscope..lol.

• Options
    DallifeDallife Posts: 71 ✭✭

@BigBird said:

Woow, what kind of microscope is that?! I needs! Lol

• Options

@Dallife said:

@BigBird said:

I picked it up off Amazon, Tomlov dm5. Im looking forward to putting it to use as i have a bunch of wheat pennies to sort thru next.

• Options

@coinbuf said:
    Just a coin that had the edge layer of copper rubbed off to show the zinc core, not an error.

Thanks for the reply, i recieved my coin microscope and uploaded additional pitures of the edge that show what u were refering to better.

• Options
    gumby1234gumby1234 Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 31, 2022 1:07PM

@BigBird cents are not made up of layers. Post 1982 cents are a zinc core thats copper plated.

Successful BST with ad4400, Kccoin, lablover, pointfivezero, koynekwest, jwitten, coin22lover, HalfDimeDude, erwindoc, jyzskowsi, COINS MAKE CENTS, AlanSki, BryceM

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,200 ✭✭✭✭✭

cents of that year are copper plated zinc. the plating is very very thin.