Home U.S. Coin Forum

Here is a challenge. Explain this oddity.

dcarrdcarr Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited March 30, 2022 8:19PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I can answer the "How ?" question.
It is a genuine 1849 Large Cent, over-struck with strange dies, in such a way to preserve the central elements of the coin and the date.

This also partially answers the "What ?" question, but there is probably some more to it.

Then there is:

"Why ?"
"Who ?"
"When ?"
"Where ?"

If the over-strike dies can be identified, that should go a long way towards the explanation.

Comments

• Steven59Steven59 Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭✭✭

That's very unique looking - hence the statement - "I've never seen anything like that before"........

"When they can't find anything wrong with you, they create it!"

• jayPemjayPem Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭✭✭

The rim is pretty stretched out.
    It's cool! I want one..

• I'm new to this, but isn't this a wrong planchet error? That or it looks like it was misshapen and molded by somebody. Regardless, I like it a lot.

• LanceNewmanOCCLanceNewmanOCC Posts: 19,999 ✭✭✭✭✭

if no one knows it, someone could do a sketch of the design w/o the large cent elements to give a clearer picture.

<--- look what's behind the mask! - cool link 1/NO ~ 2/NNP ~ 3/NNC ~ 4/CF ~ 5/PG ~ 6/Cert ~ 7/NGC 7a/NGC pop~ 8/NGCF ~ 9/HA archives ~ 10/PM ~ 11/NM ~ 12/ANACS cert ~ 13/ANACS pop - report fakes 1/ACEF ~ report fakes/thefts 1/NCIS - Numi-Classes SS ~ Bass ~ Transcribed Docs NNP - clashed coins - error training - V V mm styles -

It looks like one side of the coin was stamped, turned a half turn and then stamped again?
    Maybe in a press for spoons or something similar?

• numismanumisma Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭✭

I can't even begin to guess. Well, okay, I will take a wild guess:

Looks like some sort of die trial for a commercial product. Instead of using scrap metal, someone used a large cent. Based on the patina and detail of the host coin, I would guess that this happened back in the mid to late 1800s.