Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Inexperienced at grading, what prevented this seated half from pr64?

DeplorableDanDeplorableDan Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm not experienced at all with coin grading but id like to learn more. I understand the basic principles but the tough part for me is understanding how grading differs from series to series. I picked up this proof seated half recently and it looks to be pretty lustrous for 160 year old silver, perhaps it was even dipped at one time? The strike looks decent and the fields are clean, with extra lighting there's like one little scratch to the right of her knee. It looks as good if not better than some ms64 coins I have but i don't have a lot of proof coins. any insight or knowledge is much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    braddickbraddick Posts: 23,175 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hairlines and/or surface etching by the toning.

peacockcoins

• Options
    The_Dinosaur_ManThe_Dinosaur_Man Posts: 840 ✭✭✭✭✭

The coin has plenty of hairlines and cabinet friction, plus numerous hits at Liberty's knees.

Custom album maker and numismatic photographer, see my portfolio here: (http://www.donahuenumismatics.com/).

• Options
    2dueces2dueces Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭✭✭

No matter the grade that is one nice coin and it would look great in any collection. Congratulations

W.C.Fields
    "I spent 50% of my money on alcohol, women, and gambling. The other half I wasted.
  • Options
    jdimmickjdimmick Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 15, 2021 4:54PM

As mark said, proof coins are nearly impossible to grade determine from photo's, but I see too many hairlines and disturbances in field for a 64

• Options
    BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,506 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 15, 2021 5:02PM