Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Real or fake Jefferson Dollar 1903?

Hello!

I have been presented with the opportunity to bid On a Jeffersson Dollar 1903 at a small auction in Sweden, but cannot decide if it’s real or fake.

I am a novice at coin collecting and the pictures aren’t the best, therefor I ask for your help. Should I take the chance?

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    ifthevamzarockinifthevamzarockin Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum! :)

Looks fake to me. ;)

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,228 ✭✭✭✭✭

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options
  • Options

look at the difference in hair detail

counterfeit

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,446 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks real but damaged from use in jewelry which was quite common with small gold coins in that era.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

The pictures of the original differ significantly on the portrait. It could be wear, but just from the pictures, I cannot say for sure. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    BillJonesBillJones Posts: 33,487 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don’t care for it. At best it appears to be a genuine piece that has been polished. At worst it is a counterfeit with lumps and weaker than expected details. Among the surviving examples, most pieces are at least MS-62 or 63 or better.

Retired dealer and avid collector of U.S. type coins, 19th century presidential campaign medalets and selected medals. In recent years I have been working on a set of British coins - at least one coin from each king or queen who issued pieces that are collectible. I am also collecting at least one coin for each Roman emperor from Julius Caesar to ... ?
  • Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,948 ✭✭✭✭✭

In Sweden, raw, looks polished ... PASS.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options