Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

New Anti-Counterfeit Edge?

OnastoneOnastone Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭✭✭

July 20'th marks the release of the new Type-2 Proof ASE. The mint states: "Enhanced security features include an anti-counterfeit reeded edge variation" Does anyone know what that means? Will there be odd spacing of the reeds, or perhaps some secret laser marks?

Comments

• Options
    KliaoKliao Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭✭✭

The reed variation is the missing reed just under the 1 in the date that can be seen the the third photo.

https://catalog.usmint.gov/american-eagle-2021-one-ounce-silver-proof-coin-21EAN.html?cgid=2021-product-schedule

Young Numismatist/collector
    75 Positive BST transactions buying and selling with 45 members and counting!
    instagram.com/klnumismatics

• Options
    MWallaceMWallace Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm not an expert on such things, but how hard would it be to counterfeit a coin with a missing reed?

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

I will get one of these (enrolled, I can avoid the rush).... It will be interesting to examine in hand. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    TurtleCatTurtleCat Posts: 4,589 ✭✭✭✭✭

@MWallace said:
    I'm not an expert on such things, but how hard would it be to counterfeit a coin with a missing reed?

It’s probably the missing reed in combination with exact positioning and maybe a few other things. At least that’s what I suspect. They definitely won’t use it in isolation. Still, it doesn’t help the end consumer all that much if they don’t have a simple way to verify authenticity.

• Options
    HydrantHydrant Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭✭✭

Whatever works.

• Options
    WAYNEASWAYNEAS Posts: 6,345 ✭✭✭✭✭

To me it is just another marketing gimmick. :D
    Wayne

Kennedys are my quest...

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,745 ✭✭✭✭✭

Will it now be an error if the missing reed is not in in the correct spot (rotated dies)?

• Options

Thanks @Kliao I see it now, how interesting. I agree with @MWallace, if you're actually