Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Need Help - Legit 1914 D cent?

SqueekstyleSqueekstyle Posts: 57 ✭✭✭
edited June 29, 2021 6:07PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I found this 1914 D Lincoln cent in an old Whitman folder and I am having a hard time figuring out if it is real or fake:

Thank for the help!

Comments

• Options
    jesbrokenjesbroken Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭✭✭

Check out this website for 14D Diagnostics. You may have to have better pics to be certain.
    Jim

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease to be honest....Abraham Lincoln

Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it.....Mark Twain
  • Options
    JimWJimW Posts: 543 ✭✭✭✭

Well, I am no expert on this, but it does not look like an altered 44-d which is a common alteration

Successful BST Transactions: erwindoc, VTchaser, moursund, robkool, RelicKING, Herb_T, Meltdown

• Options
    lkeneficlkenefic Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm not an expert either, but I don't see any engraver's initials and the spacing between the 9 and 1 looks pretty good. If it's an added MM someone did a heck of a job. I'd wait for a real expert to come along, but it looks legit to these untrained eyes...

Collecting: Dansco 7070; Middle Date Large Cents (VF-AU); Box of 20;

Successful BST transactions with: SilverEagles92; Ahrensdad; Smitty; GregHansen; Lablade; Mercury10c; copperflopper; whatsup; KISHU1; scrapman1077, crispy, canadanz, smallchange, robkool, Mission16, ranshdow, ibzman350, Fallguy, Collectorcoins, SurfinxHI, jwitten, Walkerguy21D, dsessom.
  • Options
    ChrisH821ChrisH821 Posts: 6,338 ✭✭✭✭✭

The inside of the D is triangular as it should be

Collector, occasional seller

• Options
    MFeldMFeld Posts: 12,055 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just taking a quick look at the images, nothing is causing me to question the coin’s authenticity.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• Options