Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Guess the grade. Toned $20 St Gaudens. TrueView posted.

jwittenjwitten Posts: 5,077 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited September 28, 2020 7:50PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Just picked this up today. I have not seen many toned St Gaudens, so had to buy it when I saw it! It's a decent date, too. I hope to try crossing it to PCGS.

Comments

• Options
    DelawareDoonsDelawareDoons Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hm, nice coin. Interesting color. Good luck with the cross!

Professional Numismatist. "It's like God, Family, Country, except Sticker, Plastic, Coin."

• Options
    TurtleCatTurtleCat Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’m no expert but I’ve never seen gold look like that. Good luck to you.

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,444 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don't remember ever seeing a Saint with that much toning. Good luck with PCGS and let us know what grade they give it. :)

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    VanHalenVanHalen Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭✭✭

Wow! That is a Saint for Memorial Day weekend!

• Options
    CoinJunkieCoinJunkie Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think a crossover to PCGS is a long shot. Hope I'm wrong.

• Options

@CoinJunkie said:

Why? Do you think it's not an AU55?

• Options
    crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,817 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’m one of those guys that likes it.
    Good luck with the crossover.

The bitterness of "Poor Quality" is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
  • Options
    cameonut2011cameonut2011 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭✭

The piece does not look original to me. AU details. It looks doctored to me.

• Options

@PerryHall said:

@CoinJunkie said:

Why? Do you think it's not an AU55?

The surfaces look rather funky. I tried to cross a couple of ANACS bust halves with darker (somewhat "burnt") toning several years ago and wasn't successful. I'm not saying PCGS won't cross it, but I wouldn't be expecting it. AU55 seems reasonable from the perspective of wear.

• Options
    Timbuk3Timbuk3 Posts: 11,658 ✭✭✭✭✭