Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

I’m looking to learn- What’s the grade of this ‘65 Kennedy half?

I want to learn more about grading. Who wants to offer an opinion about the grade of this 1965 Kennedy half dollar and tell me what stands out to lead them to that conclusion.

It’s from the 1965 SMS set. Only handled with cloth gloves. Very clean overall. Has an apparent scratch on Kennedy’s cheek, a small surface spot in the field near the “t” and “y” on the obverse, and a small dark spot on the edge of the reverse above the “e” of United.

This is from curiosity about grading, I’m not worried about value. Thanks in advance for your time and thoughts.

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    thisistheshowthisistheshow Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm not a grading expert.
    But I like to help.

These pics all look quite different. I might be wrong, so someone else correct me please, but you should start by making sure the pictures reflect the way the coin looks in hand. I think that would help with grading.

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭✭

Can we get pics without so much light? Scratch on nose/cheek will be a limiting factor for sure. Reverse looks PL but not so sure about obverse.
    bob :)

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options
    SenateSaloonSenateSaloon Posts: 114 ✭✭✭

@AUandAG said:
    Can we get pics without so much light? Scratch on nose/cheek will be a limiting factor for sure. Reverse looks PL but not so sure about obverse.
    bob :)

I’m limited by my photographic skills but both sides shine like mirrors (PL) so I’m finding it very hard to take a picture. I’ve added a more recent circulated Kennedy for comparison.

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭✭