Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

CAC Results and request to call JA - Final update!!!

Comments

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,558 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Insider2 said:

@TommyType said:

@CaptHenway said:
    You can tell by the way the shadows fall INTO the letters, rather than below or next to them, that the letters are incused. It is obvious to any coin Authenticator that another coin got pressed into this one after the two coins were struck. Anything else is wishful thinking.

I'm starting to believe...

Tilt the "Donor" coin just slightly, and there wouldn't necessarily be any rim-to-rim contact.

Guess what threw ME off was the 1) The quality of the impression, (but I have little experience looking at this type of thing), and 2) the quality of the coin...MS-66!

To me, that quality made an intentional "squeeze job" highly unlikely. (Why ruin a perfectly nice coin?) It also seemed to make a coin-to-coin "hit" unlikely.

But, I guess, one time random, "stroke of lightning" things can happen...

As I wrote, Tom and Fred's explanation has been the status-quo for at least fifty years. The only thing very unusual on this coin is the DEPTH of the letters. The "sharpness" is common when this characteristic is seen.

Therefore, I hope you guys can brainstorm more and come up with a possible way this effect can occur when the coin was struck.

I think the only reason JA raised an eyebrow is because the letters looked struck. We await Fred's opinion in the New Year!

I recommend everyone get a hammer and start banging away until you reproduce the effect.

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭

@TommyType said:

@davewesen said:

that is what insider wants,

But I didn't create anything different than what was already here! I just put them side by side!

What Insider wanted has been here for...days?

Absolutely not! > @OldIndianNutKase said:

I would believe that brockard strikes, when known, in 1889 would have commonly just been recycled through the press.