Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Dealers who sell cleaned coins

DesertLizardDesertLizard Posts: 703
edited August 7, 2023 9:28AM in U.S. Coin Forum
I am no expert but I see alot of raw coins out on the auctions being sold by people with high feedback levels [ in the 100s]. I would assume they know a thing or two about numismatics but I see they auction off coins which have been cleaned and do state so in their auction. What's up with that? Why do they do it? Is a small profit worth losing their reputation?

Whenever I see s a dealer auction cleaned coins I automatically put it down in my notebook and move on. I dont care how many coins he has i want. I assume all of his material like his ethics are suspect. He will never ever get my business.

What is also galling is some of them act as if they did not know. Well, if they did not know they should be out of business for incompetence.

I must emphasize these "dealers" are mainly on line people and a few show table dealers.

Comments

• Options
    if you want to see the center of the cleaned coin universe, you will arrive when you get to the ft liquordale coin club show. there's one guy there that harshly cleans every single coin he gets his paws on and apparently has passed on this fine trait to other club members.
  • Options
    There is certainly a place in the coin market for cleaned coins, just like their is a place in the Comic market for restored comics. I don't have a problem with someone selling a clean coin or two as long as he isn't the one cleaning them, and they are clearly labeled on his auctions. I would like to think that most dealers who have any sense, would try to avoid cleaned coins for the most part except for Key and Semi key coins, which still have a value even when cleaned. Run of the mill common cleaned coins etc shouldn't be touch unless they want a reputation like Paul Simms!
  • Options
    Oops!

I have a typo when i started the thread....