Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

ONA Show Report from Tornado Alley, apparently a verbose read.

SurfinxHISurfinxHI Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited April 28, 2024 8:43PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Howdy all,

tl;dr -- good show on the wholesale side, light public traffic, someone maybe messing around at close of show, and tornados.

Thought I'd do a bit of a show report, as a few asked for it. The ONA (Oklahoma Numismatic Association) held a show in Moore, Ok over Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. I was fortunate enough to get a table (heard of at least one person who didn't). This show is comprised of a bunch of local dealers from the OK, TX, KS, AR areas, maybe a few further, and at least one fellar from Hawaii. They all pretty much know me know, as I've been doing shows in TX and OK for about 8-10 years now, off and on. So it is always good to see familiar faces.

Friday was a 1/2 for the public, but there was brisk trade going on across the floor well before then. If you didn't know, OKC is home to APMEX, and they had at least 6 folks buying on the floor on Friday, maybe 4-5 on Saturday. All day. If you wanted to sell to a major wholesaler and didn't want to ship, this was the show to do it at! I got to meet several people that work for them, hopefully made a few new friendships in the process. And you never know what they might need until you ask (or they ask you). I heard they made several people's shows, just in terms of purchasing.

At noon the doors opened to a massive crowd of...well...air. Some fresh air. And a few folks wandered in. But traffic was not strong to start with on Friday. By about 3 pm, there might have been a hundred or more of the public in and out. I saw a sheet with tallies, but didn't get a good look at it (on Saturday). I heard one dealer say he only sold 2 coins to the public (early on Sunday morning was the comment). I did much better than two, but I'd say the bulk of my sales were dealer to dealer and to APMEX.