Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

If I Break This Coin Out............

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited April 1, 2024 5:54PM in U.S. Coin Forum

.............would acetone clean this stuff up or off? I could use her in my 7070.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• Options
    Project NumismaticsProject Numismatics Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭✭✭

:/

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,773 ✭✭✭✭✭

Another one bites the dust...

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
    jacrispiesjacrispies Posts: 732 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks to be toning and not surface level gunk which will only come off by dipping the coin. :#

Or you could tone it a slightly darker which would even out the color.

"For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord" Romans 6:23. Young fellow suffering from Bust Half fever.

• Options

@Ronsanderson said:
    A sequence of distilled water, then acetone, then xylene should remove most organic contaminants. However, there is no guarantee that the result would be more pleasing. For one thing, you may find that the gunk has reacted with the metal to produce some spot toning. It may be pretty, or may be ghastly. For another, the coin may just look weird with some clean spots and some splotches.

I, for one, would tread carefully and maybe learn to love the look it has.

Yes. I'm afraid whatever it is, might be baked into the surface.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    alaura22alaura22 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭✭✭

Why?
    Just leave her be :)

• Options

There's no rush. I'll just keep looking. I could find another one around EF without that look or appearance.

• Options
    lkeneficlkenefic Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭✭✭