Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1918 Magnetic Lincoln Wheat Cent

Comments

• Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,597 ✭✭✭✭✭

@PerryHall said:
    @CaptHenway I've never heard of coins being X-rayed. When you were working as an authenticator at ANACS, how many coins were X-rayed? Can someone show us a pic of an X-ray of a coin? Due to the density of the metal, I doubt that it's even possible. In the case of the subject coin, a magnet was the only tool needed to make their determination.

I had heard of it being done decades ago, though I have no experience with it. However, if they can x-ray pipe welds it should be possible to x-ray a coin looking for either an irregular lump of slag or a smooth sheet or rod of steel.

If anybody ever tries it, I recommend doing a common normal coin first, to establish a base result and to see if it damages the coin in any way.

Numismatist. 50 year member ANA. Winner of four ANA Heath Literary Awards; three Wayte and Olga Raymond Literary Awards; Numismatist of the Year Award 2009, and Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Winner numerous NLG Literary Awards.
  • Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,279 ✭✭✭✭✭

@OAKSTAR said:
    The Use Of X-Ray Spectrographic's In Numismatics

Some additional info.

https://forums.collectors.com/discussion/1095793/the-use-of-x-ray-spectrographics-in-numismatics#latest

x-ray spec would pick up if the magnetic slag were mixed in, or the unlikely circumstance of it being on the surface

in this case we're talking x-raying a coin like a person looking for variations in the image that might indicate included slag

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options

A simpler way to test it, outside of the slab of course, would be to see if the substance that attracts to the magnet is all over the coin (as in the metal plate I mentioned above) or localized (as in a piece of ferrous slag or a rod).