Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Rehabilitating a cleaned coin?

Would carrying this coin around for a few months as a pocket piece be helpful or an exercise in futility?

Comments

• Options
    rte592rte592 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭✭✭

Would make a decent fidget Spinner AKA pocket piece.
    As for time, think longer term and what are you really looking to accomplish?

• Options
    HalfpenceHalfpence Posts: 442 ✭✭✭✭

Pay no attention to those who mock. You won't learn if you don't ask.
    I'm unaware of methods to reverse cleaning damage. It's still a neat coin.

• Options

@rte592 said:
    Would make a decent fidget Spinner AKA pocket piece.
    As for time, think longer term and what are you really looking to accomplish?

Ultimately I'd like to upgrade. I'm new to coins, but want to create a decent collection of Morgan dollars. The coin you see was part of an inheritance.

• Options
    jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 32,118 ✭✭✭✭✭

You can wear it down and it won't be cleaned anymore. You have to be careful. Pocket pieces can end up looking polished.

It really depends on hairlines. If it's just cleaned, it'll "dirty up" pretty easily. If it is hairlined, you have to wear the surface down below the hairlines. That can take a long time and you run the risk of getting a polished look.

I know a guy who has gotten cleaned coins straight graded by dirtying them up with a combination of handling and actual grime with an occasional chemical thrown in. But, like all such activity, amateur hands are more likely to make it worse.

• Options

@Weiss said:
    What don't you like about it, @MojaveGhost?
    Looks like an honest VF. If it's cleaned or wiped it's not especially distracting for a lower grade like that. "Market acceptable" or close to it.
    Making it a pocket piece would definitely remove much of the oxidation present and give it a lightly polished look. That oxidation will take another 10 or 20 years to come back, if it does.

This one I'd say leave it alone.