Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Are You An Album Coin Collector, Slabbed Coin Collector Or Both

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭✭✭

What's your primary method of collecting?

I'll go out on a limb here and say us albums coin collectors are going to lose and we're going to lose big to the slabbed coin collectors! Probably because we're on a PCGS forum. 🤣

With one caveat. I have bought several slabbed problem free coins over the years and have broken them out for the albums.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Are You An Album Coin Collector, Slabbed Coin Collector Or Both

Sign in to vote!
This is a public poll: others will see what you voted for.

Comments

• Options
    JBNJBN Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Both

My vote assumes Capital Holders are albums.

• Options
    OwnerofawheatiehordeOwnerofawheatiehorde Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Album Coin Collector

I like to be able to examine my coins without plastic in the way, but if it’s high grade it needs to be in a slab.

Type collector, mainly into Seated. Young Numismatist. Good BST transactions with: mirabela, OKCC, MICHAELDIXON

• Options
    Steven59Steven59 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Both

Both but lean a bit more heavily towards filling albums.

"When they can't find anything wrong with you, they create it!"

• Options
    element159element159 Posts: 498 ✭✭✭
    or Other

Neither.
    Most of my collection is either raw currency in sleeves, or raw coins in 2x2s. I do have a couple of Dansco's for the statehood/parks quarters, and a few slabs (paper and coins), but those are definitely the minority for me,

• Options
    WalkerfanWalkerfan Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Slabbed Coin Collector

Registry player who only likes PCGS or NGC coins. I try to buy only mint state.

“I may not believe in myself but I believe in what I’m doing” ~Jimmy Page~

My Full Walker Registry Set (1916-1947)