Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

GTG 1883 Liberty Nickel *Grades revealed*

BoloBolo Posts: 105 ✭✭✭✭
edited June 11, 2023 7:34AM in U.S. Coin Forum

Just got my latest batch back from PCGS and there were a few surprises. This was one of them.

Take a guess what it came in as. Also...those poor dies!

Bonus GTG:

Comments

• Options
    erwindocerwindoc Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭✭✭

Going with 58 on both.

• Options
    Batman23Batman23 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭✭✭

Interesting coins. The die cracks all over that nickel. How about:

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭✭✭

There's a story behind those 1883 nickels that slip my mind at the moment. Something about them being hoarded at the time, is why there are so many in MS condition.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭✭✭

64/55

• Options
    OwnerofawheatiehordeOwnerofawheatiehorde Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭✭✭

@OAKSTAR said:
    There's a story behind those 1883 nickels that slip my mind at the moment. Something about them being hoarded at the time, is why there are so many in MS condition.

You might be thinking about the “no-cents kind”, as that was hoarded due to crooks gold plating them and passing them off as $5 pieces. Once the public heard, they were hoarded. I’m pretty sure the “cents” variety wasn’t hoarded as much.

Type collector, mainly into Seated. Young Numismatist. Good BST transactions with: mirabela, OKCC, MICHAELDIXON

• Options
    OwnerofawheatiehordeOwnerofawheatiehorde Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭✭✭

55 and 55.

Type collector, mainly into Seated. Young Numismatist. Good BST transactions with: mirabela, OKCC, MICHAELDIXON

• Options
    CoinscratchCoinscratch Posts: 7,946 ✭✭✭✭✭

65 65+

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Ownerofawheatiehorde said:

@OAKSTAR said: