Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Will there be an updated Resplandores or will that never happen?

2»

Comments

• TheGoonies1985TheGoonies1985 Posts: 5,386 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 1, 2023 1:50PM

@MrEureka said:

@PillarDollarCollector said:

@MrEureka said:

@pruebas said:

@cacheman said:
    "Knowledge is not free or cheap."

Nor is ignorance.

Agreed. I have spent a lot on books over the last 2-3 years maybe 3000$ (that is a lot compared to say if I collected Canadian coins and would have to spend maybe a few hundred dollars max) so I try to learn as much as I can but I am no expert or master. Still learning and will as much as I can. You can't compare me to guys that have been into world coins for decades that would not even make any sens.

In other words, you (may) have knowledge, but you don’t have wisdom.

Which I guess is why you still buy damaged coins.

Hahaha come on guys I collect what I like I am OK with authentic coins as long as the eye appeal makes me happy. I have about 50/50 with numerical graded coins as well. You all know I can't afford mint state 1732-1771 8 reales and sometimes I can buy a numerical graded coin. To be honest the numerical coins don't make me any happier they are OK but my level of happiness does not change either way.

I have no one to give these coins to when my time comes to kick the bucket. I will die with them so what does it matter in the end. If I had kids or close family (and I mean good kids and family members) then maybe I would buy mostly numerical graded coins so they can profit from them. But I don't have either.

Once I leave this Earth who cares after that seriously what grades your coins were. I just want to meet God and go to Heaven now that to me matters. How I lived my life and not the grades of my coins.

To me that is wisdom.

That might sense if you never sell anything. But most of us sell off some of our coins as we learn and as our collections evolve. So, at least for most of us, resale value matters.