Home U.S. Coin Forum

1937D 3 leg Buff - need opinions

I have an opportunity to purchase this coin but only have these pics that the seller has provided. I'm hoping that better eyes
than mine can help me determine that it's authentic or if there's any reason to pass on it. Thanks in advance for your help. It looks like a nice coin but I'm not an expert and I don't have super deep pockets to just "take a chance"

Comments

• Riley1955Riley1955 Posts: 136 ✭✭✭

What gave it away guys. Not a buff guy.

• crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭✭

I will give you my 100% guarantee that’s as bad as it gets for a counterfeit buffalo nickel. Even with the crappy pics it SCREAMS fake. Good for you to run it by the forum. You saved yourself😉

The bitterness of "Poor Quality" is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
  • DRUNNERDRUNNER Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭✭✭

The rough surfaces of the cast counterfeit. That overall porousness is not even close. Even with those pics, and my old eyes, that surface is evident of a cast.

Drunner

• crazyhounddogcrazyhounddog Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 18, 2023 10:22AM

@Riley1955 said:
    What gave it away guys. Not a buff guy.

I am a buff guy. Immediately when looking at the obverse pic it’s a horrible fake. Looks like it might even be plastic. Everything about it looks wrong. It screams fake from the motif.

The bitterness of "Poor Quality" is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.
  • MFeldMFeld Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭✭

Agreed, it’s a no-doubt counterfeit. And regardless of whether the seller knows it, I’d steer clear of him/her.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• 124Spider124Spider Posts: 833 ✭✭✭✭✭