Home U.S. Coin Forum

Regarding Your Coin Collection.......

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,758 ✭✭✭✭✭

Between the gaps and down times of buying, selling, trading, CRH'ing, submitting coins for grading or reading my words here, what are some of the things you guys are doing to enhance and advance your collections?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• FloridafacelifterFloridafacelifter Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 21, 2022 8:51PM

I enjoy researching the provenance of my coins- it definitely adds to my enjoyment to be able to figure out where they have been and through whose hands they have passed.

• lkeneficlkenefic Posts: 8,159 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm taking a bit of a hiatus from buying. This is going to allow me to get a better photographic setup. So, I'll be spending more time with the coins I currently have. Hopefully, my imaging skills will improve to the point where people can tell that my coins are actually real! ;-)

Collecting: Dansco 7070; Middle Date Large Cents (VF-AU); Box of 20;

Successful BST transactions with: SilverEagles92; Ahrensdad; Smitty; GregHansen; Lablade; Mercury10c; copperflopper; whatsup; KISHU1; scrapman1077, crispy, canadanz, smallchange, robkool, Mission16, ranshdow, ibzman350, Fallguy, Collectorcoins, SurfinxHI, jwitten, Walkerguy21D, dsessom.
  • FlyingAlFlyingAl Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭✭✭

Recently I've been reading mint documents. Man, the mint and the Adams Express Co. were going at it in 1875...

Coin Photographer.

• LanLordLanLord Posts: 11,712 ✭✭✭✭✭

Nothing. What ever I owned 2 years ago, has been sitting, unlooked at. Some have been sold but mainly just set aside. Coin collecting really lost it's shine about two years ago.

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,758 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm usually saving for my next purchase between the gaps.