Home U.S. Coin Forum

Question for 'aging' coin collectors

I have been collecting coins for around 50 years now. At first I wanted to fill in all (or as many) holes in my Whitman Lincoln cent books as I could. Being 10 - 12 years old and with limited funding, I found samples in rolls of pennies or bought coins in VG - XF condition. Later, after I got the second book filled and had maybe 50% of the first book filled with highly circulated coins, my interest shifted from completing series' to exploring types. So I got 2 cent and three cent pieces and even my first gold coin (an 1895 $10 BU for like $35). It went on like this off and on for the next 40 years or so, but now as I am starting to need reading glasses for close work, I find that I don't care for 'small' coins so much anymore. Since Flying Eagle cents are my favorite and I would never get rid of these, I define 'small' as $1G, Dimes, Three cent silvers, Half Dimes (don't know if I missed any other coins smaller than a current cent). And I now enjoy some of the larger coins (like Double Eagles, Bust Halves and Dollars) that I didn't have too much interest in before.

Is this just me being weird again or do other long time collectors have similar feelings? Or do you just get a bigger magnifying glass?

Vic

Comments

• bsshog40bsshog40 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭✭

It sounds to me that your collecting interests are just changing. If you still had the passion for the little guys, you would have already gotten something to see them better with.

• bearcavebearcave Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭✭✭

My eyes are gone. I can't roll hunt like I used to but always did like the Morgans and Peace dollars! 🙂

Ken
  • CoinosaurusCoinosaurus Posts: 9,614 ✭✭✭✭✭

Small coins are less popular to begin with. Vision issues only add to that. Shiny, big coins are more impressive to the casual observer.

• ZoinsZoins Posts: 33,811 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 21, 2020 9:05AM