Home Metal Detecting

10-8-2019 Update--My finds history thread. From the addicting beginning....

CCDAMEEKCCDAMEEK Posts: 117 ✭✭✭
edited October 8, 2019 4:21AM in Metal Detecting

I have been detecting now for about 12 years. It started when I went out dry-washing for gold with a friend in Arizona. While taking a break from that, he pulled out a couple metal detectors and we played around in the wash a bit. Although nothing but a couple old cans was found that day, I learned two things. One, I HATED dry-washing. And Two, I might enjoy detecting. Over the next year or so, I did a lot of research on detecting and detectors, and ultimately purchased a fairly unused Whites DFX Spectrum E-series, pin-pointer, and carry bag for a very reasonable $325.00.
My first attempt to use it, my wife and I went to a local lake beach just to start learning to sweep and the different sounds. OF course I had it set in all metals, to start the learning curve, so we found a few bottle caps, pull tabs etc. We were using a hand shovel and a kitchen strainer to sift!
But with in a half hour of use, We pulled up a ring! Thank Heavens I had done some prior research, and remembered to re-sweep the dig! The photograph shows what we found that first outing at that dig! Most of this jewelry was in a plastic sandwich bag that someone must have put it in to keep from losing it.
So that is how I got hooked on detecting! There was only two solid gold rings in that find, the rest of the jewelry being all plated. But the watch was a very nice antique Waltham, and between selling the two rings and the watch, my $325.00 detector had nearly paid for itself the first outing.!

Oh how I LOVE this hobby!

Freedom isn't free, we must protect it. Many Thanks to all those in the U.S. Military and Law Enforcement, past and present, for taking lead in that fight.

Current equipment: Whites DFX 300; Tesoro Tiger Shark; Minelab CTX 3030.
Pin-ponters: Garrett Propointer AT; Minelab Pro Find 35

Comments