Home U.S. Coin Forum

Negotiating with Dealers at a Show

rmorganrmorgan Posts: 249 ✭✭✭✭

I've been visiting local shows for three months now, and I'm still learning, so I'm still asking for advice. ..

When you find coins that interest you, how do you deal with pricing? Do you offer a price? Do you ask what he can do? How often do you just pay without haggling because you find the price reasonable? Is there some dollar amount or number of pieces at which you assume you should get a discount? What if the dealer is displaying coins with no asking price? ...Basically, how do you approach the purchase?

My strategy is about collecting what I intend to keep, not investing in what I plan to sell.

Comments

• opportunityopportunity Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭✭

I have had far more success by confidently telling dealers what I will pay for a coin instead of being subservient and asking for their "best price"...but always know what you're talking about, and be fair and reasonable.

Early American Copper, Bust and Seated.

• U1chicagoU1chicago Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭✭✭

It is indeed dependent on the situation. In general,
    -if the price is way too high, I usually pass
    -if it’s close (within 10-25%), I try to bargain
    -if it’s priced fairly, I usually just buy it (occasionally I’ll try to get a bit more off, but it depends on the situation)

If there is no asking price, then I ask for a price. Even if there is a price on a sticker I’ll still double check to make sure that is really the number and not some code.

• BroadstruckBroadstruck Posts: 30,497 ✭✭✭✭✭

It all depends on the coin as sometimes the price is fair and there's no need to negotiate.

To Err Is Human.... To Collect Err's Is Just Too Much Darn Tootin Fun!
  • BaleyBaley Posts: 22,658 ✭✭✭✭✭

Depends on how many alternative coins at the show or on the internet. If easy to find, it better be a very good deal.

If it's the first or best one you've seen of the rare target and you want it bad, pay what it costs.