Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Looking for first non-modern set to collect

I have been collecting modern proof and mint sets for about 8 years now. I have finished off the sets that I wanted to and now I'm slowly upgrading some. But now I am looking to collect something a little different. Can anyone recommend a small or cheapish set to collect. I'm thinking less then $100 a coin. I just don't know where to start.

Comments

• Options
    david3142david3142 Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭✭✭

I’d recommend buffalo nickels. There are only two coins that would probably cost more than $100 (1913-D and S, Type 2)

• Options
    jmski52jmski52 Posts: 22,406 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2, 2018 6:28AM

Once you make the commitment, you'll be in trouble. Any of the Barber series in VG-F-VF can be fun. Same goes for Mercury Dimes, Buffalo Nickels, Walking Liberty Halves, Washington Quarters, Lincoln Cents, Indian Cents, Large Cents, Half Cents, Morgan Dollars, Peace Dollars - the most important thing is to pick a grade range that is pleasing to you and in your price range.

Just pick one and then focus on learning about the series. Don't be in a big rush if you are looking for a coin that "fits" your own specific aims. When you make it a long term "quest" for the right coins, it's not as easy but it's more fun when you come across the one that fits.

Coin collecting doesn't have to be prohibitively expensive. The problem is that when you gain an appreciation of a series, it's hard to throttle back when you start to want better and better coins. It doesn't have to be that way - it can just be fun. I still put circulated coins into blue Whitman folders for fun.

Whenever I start to get serious about a series, that's when I take a close look at pricing and grade ranges.

Q: Are You Printing Money? Bernanke: Not Literally

I knew it would happen.
  • Options
    JimnightJimnight Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭✭

Good advice from @jmski52 .

• Options
    privatecoinprivatecoin Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭✭✭