Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1921 Morgan Dollar - mint mark error?

Hello,

I am new to coin collecting and have a 1921 Morgan with a "s" close to the top of the face. I am curious if this is a possible mint error or something else? Included below are pictures of the coin and hope someone will be able to shed light on this coin.
Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,549 ✭✭✭✭✭

First thought was a dropped letter. But, I see it's a Philly coin so the S mint mark is not an option. Does not match any other S on the coin so that first idea is a no go. Must be post mint damage.

bob :)

Or, maybe a new mint mark position??? lol

Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options
    ChrisH821ChrisH821 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭✭✭

Is it pressed into the coin's surface?

Collector, occasional seller

• Options
    eddiebeddieb Posts: 6
    edited February 12, 2018 3:24PM

Hi @ChrisH821 - Yes its pressed into the coin.

• Options
    FredWeinbergFredWeinberg Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭✭✭

I can see the "S", but it does not look like a 'dropped letter' error;

Also, there is nothing on the coin that has that size and shape S
    mintmark on it - it looks like someone punched the 'S' onto your coin.

Your coin was minted in Philadelphia (no mintmark on reverse above the DO)

Retired Collector & Dealer in Major Mint Error Coins & Currency since the 1960's.Co-Author of Whitman's "100 Greatest U.S. Mint Error Coins", and the Error Coin Encyclopedia, Vols., III & IV. Retired Authenticator for Major Mint Errors
    for PCGS. A 49+-Year PNG Member...A full numismatist since 1972, retired in 2022
  • Options
    eddiebeddieb Posts: 6
    edited February 12, 2018 3:24PM

@AUandAG and @FredWeinberg... Thanks for your info. Based on what you are saying...looks like I had a nice coin at one point, until some idiot stamped a letter "s" on it, making the coin less valuable.

• Options
    JBKJBK Posts: 14,800 ✭✭✭✭✭