Authentic? I only have images, not the coin in hand. TIA

DPOTD-3
'Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery'

CU #3245 B.N.A. #428

Don

Comments

• Options
    gripgrip Posts: 9,962 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would expect the date to be more worn down.

• Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭

Not sure, but do not like the mark to the left of the 'D'...Though it could be random. Cheers, RickO

• Options
    jedmjedm Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭✭✭

To my eyes it looks kosher, but I'm not an expert.

• Options
    ChrisH821ChrisH821 Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks ok to me at first glance. The inside of the D appears to be the right triangular shape.

Collector, occasional seller

• Options
    Insider2Insider2 Posts: 14,452 ✭✭✭✭✭

YES! Now look on the Internet for a clue to this coin's authenticity. It is on the obverse. The diagnostic clue can be "transferred" to a counterfeit die but that did not happen here. I >:) will answer tonight if no one gets it.

• Options

Are you referring to the tiny die crack from the bust to the rim @ 5:00?

• Options
    drwstr123drwstr123 Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭✭✭

• Options
    kevinstangkevinstang Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭

I always look for the bottom of the 1 & 9 in date being in a straight line with top corner of the D mintmark if a line were drawn, looks good to me.

• Options

@jedm said: "Are you referring to the tiny die crack from the bust to the rim @ 5:00?"

Bingo! Thanks for the info! BTW, this is only on some genuine 14-D coins.

@kevinstang said: "I always look for the bottom of the 1 & 9 in date being in a straight line with top corner of the D mintmark if a line were drawn,"

This is not reliable. There are several different mintmark positions on the genuine coins.

• Options

After answering I took out my ANACS VF-30 example and there was NO die crack... So my example is either an earlier die example or another die altogether, correct?

• Options
    originalisbestoriginalisbest Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭✭

Authentic, yes. Pretty or choice, no.

• Options