Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Opinions..may sell 1972 unopened wax box

Hi guys,
Thinking of selling an unopened box of 1972 wax 5th/6th series, 24 packs. Also, has steves blessing. So what's the best way that you would sell just one box? eBay(BIN or auction), AH and which auction house do you guys think is best (fees/commission/exposure/specializes) or offers from CU? Also, some other 70's boxes depending on the price.

...also, what do you think is the going value currently? I think I saw fritsch listed one or some, couldnbe mistaken.
Just needing some cash. And have a couple cards I have my eye on. It's not an emergency so I can wait for an AH.

Oh, and I'm so tempted to sit one evening and rip one "delicious"pack after another.

Thanks for the input.

Comments

• totallyraddtotallyradd Posts: 931 ✭✭✭
    I'm no expert on this, but I would think if you have a full box of 72 wax unopened, I'd figure out how much a pack goes for, from there I'd tally up what you think you could get for the box and tack on another 25-50 percent per pack.

Once I did that I'd ask myself how bad I need the money, because in 25 years from now I don't know if I wanna even know how much of an increase that would be....

Whatever you choose, good luck!
  • If it were me I would move it through Steve. He probably has private parties looking for these types of boxes already lined up, and I am sure his commission would be much less than an auction house. Avoiding stress and headaches of auctions would be in your favor too. Just me opinion. Good luck!
    How about a pic of the box for us?
  • itzagoneritzagoner Posts: 8,753 ✭✭
    before you do anything else, threaten to bust it here and you shall be rewarded with a host of replies reminding you that your investment is about to tank, your quest for Gem Mint 10s is about to plotz into the crapper and your days as a heavy hitter are done.
  • 19541954 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭